Aside

Review: NYC Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil

17 Nov

 Price: $3.99 CAD at Wal-Mart

These are some eyeliners I found while on one of my drug store treasure hunts. They are by N.Y.C. (New York Color); a brand I normally pass over when shopping, but I faintly remembered reading something about their waterproof liners so I bought a couple.  After playing with them at home for a few days, I went back and bought the rest.

They remind me of a waterproof version of the Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliners, which I always thought should come in a waterproof version too. Be careful with these on your water line; some have shimmers in them that feel a bit scratchy. The blue and purple felt fine on me, but the teal was really itchy.  If you plan on wearing these on your water line for a night out, I suggest you test it out a few days before so your eyes have time to recover if it’s irritating.

Formula: Similar to Urban Decay’s 24/7 liners, but not as creamy. I like that, since the Urban Decay ones can melt when it’s hot and never stay more than a half hour on my water line. These have MUCH better staying power, and don’t make me want to scratch my eyes out after a day or night of wearing them.

Pigmentation: Very strong, this was the most surprising feature to me. In my opinion, they have the pigmentation of a high-end eyeliner. You get opaque colouring with one or two swipes. And they blend beautifully. These blended into a MAC Paint Pot or Maybelline Color Tattoo base makes for a quick and polished daytime look.

Longevity of wear: All. Day. Long. These babies will last you all day and night. As far as I can tell, they are completely unaffected by tears and sweat. They can be a bit annoying to take off at the end of a long day, make sure to use makeup remover or Vaseline so you don’t pull at your eye too much. 

Packaging: Cute and made from durable plastic. Unlike some brands, the colour of the packaging actually matches the colour of the product inside. This is great if you’re like me and you hate searching through a pile of eyeliners for those little coloured tips.

They come in seven colours. I discovered they make two completely different Smokey Plums, so really there are eight altogether.

931 Black (last): A nice, inky matte black. This is my go-to black eyeliner for filling in my upper lashes and putting on my waterline. It doesn’t itch and make my eyes water like so many black eyeliners do. Anchoring this with a little black eyeshadow (or any colour really) will keep in in place for hours.

 

932 Dark Brown: Very dark matte chocolate brown. This is my favourite and most used eyeliner of the bunch. I wear it pretty much every day because it’s dark enough, but doesn’t have the harshness of black. This is a universally flattering shade of brown.

 

933 Mink: A medium brown with fine silver and gold sparkles. I usually wear this one with some mascara when I don’t have a lot of time to get ready in the morning. It also works well blended out over the lid as an eyeshadow base. Not terribly unique, but a beautiful shimmery brown to have in your collection. (Not good for the waterline).

 

934 Smokey Plum (version 1): I’m calling this one version 1 because it’s more of a true plum than the other.  A gorgeous amethyst/eggplant purple with a red-pink shimmer. This is such a spectacular colour and would be so beautiful on green eyes. If you’re doing a purple look, this shade ties everything together nicely. It also pairs nicely with green, brown and gold shades.

(version 2): Also called ‘Smokey Plum’, this is more of a true, medium matte purple. It looks similar to the first Smokey Plum, but without shimmer and slightly darker. It had the most uneven consistency of them all, and because of this I wear it the least.

 

935 Moody Blue: This is a dark indigo blue with light blue iridescent shimmer. I’m a sucker for jewel tones and this is just such a great sapphire. Another great alternative to black eyeliner, but it’s still dark enough to make your lashes stand out.  The shimmer in this is fine enough for wear on the water line, in fact the shimmers seem to stop it from bleeding as much as the shades with no shimmer.

 

936 Sky High: This is a light purple-blue with very fine blue and pink shimmer. It’s a very unique colour that I would liken to a periwinkle blue. This is the lightest shade and to be honest I haven’t used this one at all, but I’m working on finding a way!

 

937 Teal: A green-teal colour infused with yellow and gold glitter. Wow! This is super shimmery and has that lit-from-within appearance in the swatch. I would not recommend this go in the waterline at all, but you can sort of tell when you’re swatching it because the glitter is really big and visible.  What’s more, the glitter doesn’t feel gritty at all.

Overall: These have become the eyeliner I reach for pretty much every day. They come in a fantastic array of shades for s drugstore brand (the double Smokey Plum is a bonus too!). I would recommend these to anyone looking for some good, colourful eyeliners.

What’s your favourite eyeliner?

- Julia

8 Responses to “Review: NYC Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil”

  1. Shannon @ Eyemasq November 18, 2012 at 1:08 am #

    These look like great value, I might have to try a couple next time I am in Wal-mart. There are a couple really beautiful colours there in your collection! Thanks for swatching and sharing!! I especially like that teal!

    • chatoyantmakeup November 18, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

      No problem, I would highly recommend them! They’re a complete steal and surprisingly, I couldn’t find much about them on beauty blogs.

  2. sweetcandykayne November 19, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    The colors look amazingly pigmented. I think I will definitely be trying these. Great post!

  3. propersweetie November 28, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    I have Tagged you to do the Winterlicious TAG! Check out my post for the questions http://propersweetie.wordpress.com/2012/11/28/winterlicious-tag/

  4. Laura MyMakeupBox March 4, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    My favourite is Teal! I’ll looking for it here in Italy! Thanks for swatches!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

