Matte Blue Ombré Eyes

16 Aug

Image

This is a look I created while I was playing with my 88 palette from Coastal Scents. I went for the blues shades to come up with a look I wouldn’t normally wear. I went pretty full out, using bright, vibrant blues. I think most people would normally shy away from this colour, it’s a really fun look if you use it in the right way.

I know some would disagree, but I think for the right occasion this is a very wearable look.  I kept the shadow only on the top lid and under the crease, so the blue doesn’t look like it’s taking over. You could add some blue to the lower lash line, black winged liner and false lashes for a more retro look. Don’t be afraid of looking like Mimi!

Image

The Look: Electric blue ombré eyes with a pop of shimmer in the centre. I used matte eyeshadows so the gradation of colour would be more visible. I used blue eyeliner instead of black so the focus is on the blues. A hint of berry blush and slight matte bronzer contour on the cheeks. I used a sheer peach lipstick and lipgloss to counter the coolness of the eyes.

Good for: This would be fun for a night out to a club or party. You could also add some more colours and wear this as themed makeup for a sports team or something. (I could probably rock this at a Blue Jays game!)

Image

EYES

Coastal Scents 88 Color Eye Shadow Palette

Smashbox Eye Illusion Palette (blue side)

Tarte Eyeshadow in Matte Pebble (from neutralEYES volume II palette)

Sephora Nano Eyeliner in 16 Azure

NYC Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil in 935 Moody Blue

Urban Decay Primer Potion in Original

Bourjois Volumizer Mascara

bareMinerals Brow Color in Dark Blonde

FACE & LIPS

Benefit The Porefessional Primer

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Foundation in 150 Classic Ivory

Estée Lauder Double Wear Concealer in 02 Light Medium

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Finishing Powder

Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in 075 Peach

Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in 022 Sunset Peach

Ok here’s how to create the look:

1. Draw a blue eyeliner on the outer and inner corners of the eye, staying under the crease. Blend edges.

Image

2. Place a matte, medium-dark bright blue over eyeliner, blend edges.

Image

3. Take a lighter matte blue eyeshadow and blend the first shade toward the centre of the lid.

Image

4. Clean the centre of your lid with a Q-tip. Wet your brush and pat a light shimmery blue in the centre of the lid.

Image

5. Go back and re-apply colours that have faded, always staying under the crease. Blend a matte taupe to the crease to add depth.

Image

6. Draw a dark blue eyeliner (NYC Moody Blue) on the upper water line and highlight brow bone with a matte cream eyeshadow (MAC Blanc Type).

Image

7. Add the shimmery blue shade to the tear duct area. Curl lashes and apply mascara on upper and lower lashes.

Image

Done! You can re-create this look with absolutely any colour! What colour would you try it with?

- Julia

15 Responses to “Matte Blue Ombré Eyes”

  1. Jeni Johnson August 16, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    Very pretty! Wish I was as bold as you are with makeup! I’ll just live make up vicariously through you…:)

  2. Nicole August 16, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Pretty! Love the matte blue eyeshadow!

  3. Amanda (Mae) August 17, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    Gorgeous

  4. chatoyantmakeup August 17, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    :) Thank you so much ladies

  5. katie1094 August 21, 2012 at 3:54 am #

    Hi! I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award!
    http://beautygeekblog.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/liebster-blog-nomination/

    • chatoyantmakeup August 21, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

      THANK YOU! I’ll be sure to do a post on that soon! xx

  6. ShannonBearzatto August 21, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    This looks great! I love how blue eyeshadow makes brown eyes pop – super pretty look!

  7. Soeline August 24, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    I love this blue so much !

  8. cowboysandcrossbones August 26, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    I love this look – and want your lashes!

  9. sedrate December 21, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    This isn’t makeup, it’s art. I’m buying blue eye shadow right now, not something I ever paired with my brown eyes. Can you do a green look?

    • chatoyantmakeup December 23, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

      Thank you so much! This would be fabulous with brown eyes, make sure you take pictures!

      I was planning on doing a green look and trying to get my act together to do it before Christmas but I’ve been sick for a little while. I will get on it ASAP!

      • sedrate December 24, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

        I will try to take pictures but I make no guarantees of quality. I did a smokey purple eye for my sister, my first attempt at makeup pictures and it was basically my nose. I managed to crop just one picture to show my eyes. Hope you feel better soon, we’ve all been sick here too, lost our voices, which is perfectly ok when you don’t have to hear the kids whine. Not so ok when you’re trying to yell at them.

  10. sedrate December 21, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Reblogged this on Living like an Erythrocyte and commented:
    This will be my first venture into the land of the bold makeup applications!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

