Review: CARGO Blush in Mallorca

15 Aug

Image

This is a product by CARGO that I picked up a few weeks ago. These are sold on the CARGO website for USD $29.00. They come in fifteen shades and I bought Mallorca.

Image

It’s described as a “bright cherry”, but I would classify it as halfway between red and pink. It’s a dusty-cherry colour that really pops on the cheeks, which is probably why it’s described as “bright”, even though the colour itself is not. Confusing? Then just look at the pictures!

Image

Let me just start off by saying this blush is HUGE! A regular MAC blush contains 6g of product, and this baby has 8.9g, almost a third bigger! This blush will last you an extremely long time.

Formula: Creamy, dreamy and beautiful! It’s soft and silky to the touch and very pigmented in the application. No chalkiness whatsoever, which can sometimes happen with bright matte blushes. It has a very slight scent of hand soap in the pan, but this is barely detectable once applied.

Pigmentation: Very strong pigmentation, but can be applied lightly. You can sheer out the colour with blending, or build it up in layers for a strong cheek colour. Strong colours like this can be difficult to apply lightly, but I had no issues with this. I would recommend using a blush brush that is semi-stiff so you have more control in the application.

Longevity of wear: Lasts all day long on me with no visible fading. Not much to say, but definitely no complaints.

Packaging: I love this packaging! The metal packaging gives it a vintage feel, reminds me of my Grandmother’s makeup collection. I also like that it doesn’t have a hinge or plastic top for me to break. The packaging makes it feel very durable and long-lasting.

Here is a cheek swatch:

Image

Overall: I’m so impressed with the quality, colour and size of this blush! I’m definitely going to be on the hunt for more CARGO blushes because this one has surpassed all of my expectations; these are an absolute must-have for any blush-lover.

What are some of your favourite blushes?

- Julia

6 Responses to “Review: CARGO Blush in Mallorca”

  1. Amanda (Mae) August 17, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    very pretty shade! I have a few from E.l.f. because I am not a big blush user so I dont watn to spend a lot on it and they work find, I have a brighter pink and a bronze, and I love my one that I have from Avon it’s a light pink like loose blush its gorgeous has shimmer and all

  2. chatoyantmakeup August 17, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    Hm I don’t think I have any e.l.f. blushes, i’ve been wanting to try their bronzer/blush duo that’s supposed to be like the NARS laguna/orgasm duo, which blushes do you like? I’ve heard so many good things about Avon products I think I’m going to have to place an order soon!

  3. Melissa August 27, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    I love Benefit Bella Bamba 3D pink blush! Its expensive but sooooo nice!

    • chatoyantmakeup August 27, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      ooh I’ve heard great things about Benefit’s blushes but I haven’t gotten around to splurging on one just yet

      • Melissa August 27, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

        You’ll have to treat yourself! I always make sure to go to the Benefit counter so they do my full makeup even when I’m only buying one thing haha. They do great classes!

      • chatoyantmakeup August 27, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

        oh cool, I’ve heard that about their classes actually. i’ll def have to check them out thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

